A Frugal Father’s Day

20140615-142447.jpg

For a few years now I’ve gone with baking rather than bought presents for both Father’s and Mother’s Day. This has a few benefits- my parents are borderline hoarders so consumables are always welcome. No mess, no storage required, they just give me the plate back when they’re done. Also, I like to think my time and effort mean a lot more to them than something grabbed off the shelf at the last minute. The last, obvious benefit- baking is cheap like the budgie. I had all the ingredients to hand, just a bit of time and care makes something that my dad will enjoy (coffee cakes, which he loves, because it means nobody else will have any as we don’t like them. My mum gets Victoria sponge dripping with buttercream).

Happy Father’s Day Dad xx

Leave a Reply

