Knowing What You Have

A huge part of being frugal, I am coming to find, is knowing what you already have. Whether it be food, toiletries, DVDs, CDs, it’s handy to know what and how many/much you have.

I don’t normally buy toiletries but get hoards of the stuff for Christmas. I think all I have had to buy recently is a bottle of hair conditioner and deodorant. It has got to the point where I have no idea what I have, and not realising that I only have one bottle of shampoo left could have led to something of a greasy disaster.

Doing inventories of things in your home seems to be something we put off constantly but when it’s done, is it really that bad?

20140622-152339.jpg

Now I’ve done the toiletry inventory, found that I only need to request my favourite soap and glory shampoo and conditioner for Christmas (the rest of the year Alberto will have to do, at a pound a bottle it smells yum and does the job). I’m going to put on my big girl pants and inventory the kitchen next, a cupboard a day should make it less daunting! It should let me meal plan more effectively and reduce that ‘oh damn, I thought I had some of that…’ feeling.

Until next time!

3 thoughts on “Knowing What You Have

  1. I totally agree, before I became super frugal I used to waste money buying doubles of things ALL THE TIME. Now whenever we go to Costco or otherwise stock our home, we make a list of everything and tape it to the inside of the cabinet/pantry doors. I’m super short, so it helps (because I often can’t see the top couple of shelves without my step ladder, lol). Good luck!

Leave a Reply

