Taking Your Eye Off The Ball

Usually, when I take my eye off the ball, that’s when it hits me in the face and makes me sulk.

Well, that’s what happened last week with money!

I’m very much an emotional spender (and eater for that matter) and when I don’t feel very well, my purse accompanies me everywhere. My debit card must have friction burns from the amount of times it has been in and out of my purse this week!

My eye has now been superglued to my budget spreadsheet, which has been updated (oh THE SHAME!) and is 100% truthful about how much I messed up this week. But there have been a lot of positives –

I have paid myself back the money owed from my savings pot that I borrowed last month. This wasn’t included in my debt figure but was on my mind, as this savings pot is due to be used for it’s intended purpose next month so I didn’t want it to be short.

I’ve paid an extra £30 over what I was intending to pay to my interest free card, making it into a sexy round number. Round numbers please me. I’m very tempted to pay a little extra to it to take the balance under £1000 but I am going to be sensible and wait until the day before payday, just in case.

I’m still in the black! No other debts have been racked up and I’m starting to see a light at the end of my tunnel. Mr AF has spoken to me about helping me to clear one of the debts which was built up paying the vet bills for our dog, which will bring that one down even faster.

I guess the moral of this blog post is that in the beginning it is difficult to relax; in the beginning frugality isn’t necessarily your natural state. It certainly isn’t mine. But if you want to live below your means, debt free, savings in the bank, you can’t give up when you slip. Be honest with yourself, pick yourself up, take stock and carry on. It will be worth it in the end.

If you slip on a step you don’t go on to throw yourself down the stairs, you recover and carry on!

Leave a Reply

