Frugal Reading : How I Lived on Just A Pound A Day

I’ve been doing a lot of browsing on Amazon recently of books to give me a bit more of a shove to be more of a Frugalista – I have lots of great ideas but I can feel myself stalling in the background when I run out of plans and schemes. Pre Frugalistadom, I would simply have bought ALL THE BOOKS. IN THE WORLD. But I talked a bit of sense into myself and now have the world’s biggest wish list and I bought the first one off it last week (second hand, for a penny, plus £2.80 postage. Not bad, thought I). It arrived yesterday and by the time I fell asleep last night I had finished it.

A very fast read, but it doesn’t feel like you’ve been short changed for content – the author’s style is just so lovely to read. This is less of a hints and tips book and more an inspirational story to show it can be done. It’s laid out by month and the thing that really pleased me was that it showed some of the pitfalls and panics of trying to live on such a low amount for a year. Admittedly it does seem a little more sunshine and roses than I would have expected living on £365 for a year, but she proves it can be done. I see a similar mindset emerging in myself, where the less I spend, the less I want to spend. I get the same rush paying money off my credit card as I did spending recklessly on junk, and that feeling permeates this book. It’s not holier than thou at all which I did wonder if it would be, but it comes across in a gentle, compassionate way.

Could I live on £365 for a year? Perhaps, if I was single and living alone but alas, Mr AF requires a fuller diet than can be supplied on that amount of cash and I have pets, but it has made me reconsider what I’m doing with the money I am spending, and reconsider what exactly is a necessity in my life and what isn’t.

I think this book is a keeper for the moment; I think it’s great for anyone just setting out on their journey and will give flagging spirits a boost. It proves what exactly is possible in the face of disbelievers! When I’m more established I think I will set it free to help someone else along their way but for now, it’s firmly ensconced on my shelves. Highly recommended!

20140708-175837-64717803.jpg
Buy on Amazon.co.uk

Leave a Reply

