The Little Things

I was over at Frugal Queen’s Blog and she was talking about the cost of the little things mounting up.

I must admit, there’s a lot that I don’t take into account because of the was money is divided in our relationship – he pays the bulk of the mortgage, rates and electricity, and I pay for food, insurances, the pets, phone, Internet, etc.

Mr AF can be fairly frugal, we don’t have the water heater on, for example – he showers at work everyday and I only rarely take a bath, usually preferring to shower; so the shower or the kettle heat the bulk of our water, when needed. Most things are switched off at the plug when we’re out, and we have storage heaters on economy 7 and an open fire fuelled mostly by free wood.

I’m not so good where electricity is concerned. But after reading FQ’s post on how it all builds up, I went around the house and unplugged all of the chargers not in use; I turned most things off at the socket (under cabinet lights, my bedside lamp, more chargers) and am vowing to do this on a more regular basis – we’re in this together!

Any other suggestions for saving pennies? Other than you know, literally saving pennies!

Leave a Reply

