Austere August Update #2

This week went much better than last, and although after our wee cycling trip where I paid for the parking I was still only left with one handsome pound, I made it through the week intact :) it really shows how much of my daily spending was just nonsense.

Mr AF and I are about to cycle into town to pick up some bits I forgot when shopping; today should be another no petrol day. I’m quite surprised how much petrol I’m saving by making the smallest of changes! A tank has lasted me two and a half weeks so far with plenty left. I do a lot of short journeys and I have been experimenting with hypermiling, mainly by trying not to use my brakes too much. I’ve been trying to judge my speed better and when to lift off to allow me to cruise around the corners sans brakes; slowing down not only helping my fuel consumption but reducing the likelihood of getting fined for speeding!

*edit to add- HOW DO PEOPLE CYCLE EVERYWHERE?? I’m knackered!*

Leave a Reply

