A Train of Thought

This week has been trying, to say the very least.

New work hours threw me out.

Blindingly bad headaches. One of which I have right now.

Mr AF trapping Millie’s tail in the back door, necessitating surgery, bandages, tablets.

Oh and a sexy little chest infection to boot.

Do you ever feel that some weeks just conspire against you? I’ve gained weight this week too, which just really put the cherry on things. I like to be in control and when one bit spirals out of control, I let go of the rest too. I really need to get out of this all-or-nothing mentality that has every goal I have in its grip.

So, my aspiring frugaldom has gone a wee bit awry this week! I have £20 and some shrapnel in my current account (all bills are paid thankfully) and £60 in my groceries account to last two weeks. I’d like the grocery money to stretch to two shops which is distinctly possible, but it’s not the end of the world if I go a little over as payday is on the second grocery shop day. The money has gone on thoughtless frittering, ‘treats’ that I thought I deserved (and probably also explains the poundage I’ve gained’. I was adamant I was going to pay for a month at the gym but I’ve decided that can wait for another two weeks. Running in the dark hasn’t done me any harm so far!

I’m following the couch to 5k program at the moment and I was up to week four before my chest infection hit. With no small amount of trepidation I tried to run yesterday and after a coughing fit decided to wind it back a week, so I’m working on week three again. I don’t feel like I’ve lost anything though as despite the coughing I still put in my best pace yet. I’m lucky enough that my Dad invested in proper gait analysis and running shoes for me (hyper mobile joints and an old knee and hip injury made this a sensible course of action) so running now doesn’t cost me anything. Well… I call it running. It’s probably closer to a bouncy walk.

So, this week’s to do is basically, get back in control and try not to spend any damned money. Keep running. Keep going, keep trying.

Leave a Reply

