That Sinking Feeling is no more

Remember when I wasn’t sure how or if being debt free would feel any different?

It does.

I smashed my First-then finance goals for the first time since I set them. Not only am I a whisper away from payday still solvent, but I’m a whisper away from payday with money in my ‘spare change’ savings account, which is enough to have already paid for my prescription sunglasses, and also enough to pay for my wedding outfit, which I ordered today. 

I don’t know about you but each month I go through the arduous task of changing all of my standing orders to go out on payday. I can be paid on anything from the 19th to the 22nd of each month, and previously I’ve been so out of control with my spending that I didn’t trust myself to leave a whole paycheque in the bank for that 3-4 days until my standing orders would kick in and send the money to various accounts, making sure I could always pay my bills every month.

Today, I set them all for the 22nd and made the decision to leave it like that.

This month’s success has come partly from my fiscal almost-fast. It drew my attention to how much money I frittered away in dribs and drabs and really did frighten me. I gave myself £20 a week for the rest of the month and put the remainder into savings. Each week, whatever I didn’t spend, went into savings. I sold my beloved but unused filofax to pay for my sunglasses. All of these little things added up to make me feel more secure, and now I’m not worried because there’s no money in my account. After the rush of clearing the debt, has come the intriguing process of building self control, building a safety net.

So, my financial first-then goal is now as follows:

First, save enough money to cover a month’s worth of bills (£780 approximately)

Next, add a month’s mortgage payment to that (£326)

Future goals I want to accomplish include having a full month’s wages still in the bank when payday rolls around, and the lofty challenge of having a full year’s worth of bill and food money in the savings account. 

Baby steps, though.

Leave a Reply

